Michael & Associates, Attorneys at Law

The San Antonio, TX DWI / DUI Lawyer that Cares

Charged with driving while intoxicated?  Michael & Associates has been fighting DWIs in San Antonio for years.

A DWI in San Antonio Can Cost You Big Time.
We're here to help.

DWI in San Antonio?

A DWI charge can be extremely stressful.

In Texas, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content level of 0.08 or higher. This crime is unfortunately quite common in the San Antonio area.

The state of Texas takes DWI violations very seriously. If you have been charged with a DWI, it is crucial that you hire a competent and experienced attorney.

The Consequences of a DWI Conviction

Many people think that because DWI is so common, the penalties are not severe. This is not the case. The penalties for a DWI conviction are as follows:

1st Offense:

  • Up to a $2000 fine
  • Between 3 and 180 days in jail
  • Loss of driver's license for up to a year

2nd Offense:

  • Up to a $2000 fine
  • Between 1 and 12 months in jail
  • Loss of driver's license for up to two years

3rd+ Offense:

  • Up to a $10,000 fine
  • Between 2 and 10 years in prison
  • Loss of driver's license for up to two years
  • A Felony on your record

There are also various enhanced charges that can be added on, such as driving with a child onboard.

Fight for Your Future

In addition to the criminal penalties, a DWI can cause you to lose your license, make it harder to find a job, and raise your insurance rates.

Hiring an experienced DWI attorney is crucial if you have been charged with a DWI. At Michael & Associates, we have been fighting DWI cases for nearly a decade. We have successfully fought hundreds of DWI cases in and around San Antonio.

Our goal is to provide high-quality DWI defense. We treat each case individually and work diligently to get the best possible outcome.

Unlike many larger firms, we do not treat our clients like numbers. You will have full access to Ben Michael, our managing partner. We will take the time to explain everything to you and answer any questions you may have.

Schedule a free case review today so we can start working on your DWI defense strategy.

GET A FREE CASE REVIEW

If you've been charged with a DWI, you have 15 days before you lose your license. Fill out the form below and we'll be in touch in a few minutes.

Why we're the Right San Antonio DWI Lawyer for You

0+

Cases

0%

Success Rate

0

Years Experience

0.0

Star Google Rating

0+

Dismissals
2022-10-BEST-DUI-LAWYERR-removebg-preview
2020-Criminal-Defense-Badge1-removebg-preview
Top_40_under_40_Criminal_Defense_Attorney-removebg-preview
Top 10 Criminal Defense Attorney AVVO

Hundreds of Happy San Antonio Clients

I was charged with a DWI and was facing the possibility of months in jail. I hired Ben Michael as my attorney, and he was able to get the charges reduced. I didn't have to do anything - it was a relatively stress-free experience. Because of Ben, I got a second chance. I'll never drive drunk again.

John S
San Antonio, TX

If you're looking for a law firm that will actually care about you and fight for you, then Michael & Associates is the right choice. They take the time to listen and understand your case, and they're passionate about getting the best results for their clients. I would definitely recommend them to anyone in need of a good law firm.

George T
San Antonio, TX

Recent DWI Cases in San Antonio

Case Dismissed

Charge: Driving While Intoxicated

Location: San Antonio, TX

Allegations: The police stopped the client, claiming that he was swerving between lanes. The client failed the sobriety test and was taken to the police station.

 

Result: Dismissal

Charges Reduced

Charge: Driving While Intoxicated, 2nd Offense

Location: San Antonio, TX

Allegations: Client refused a breathalyzer test and failed a sobriety test after being pulled over, resulting in their arrest. This was the client's second offense.

Result: Case Pled Down to Reckless Driving

Case Dismissed

Charge: Driving Under the Influence

Location: San Antonio, TX

Allegations:The client was arrested for running a stop sign. A breathalyzer and blood test were administered by the police.

 

Result: Case Dismissed

Frequently Asked Questions

About Michael & Associates

No matter what the outcome, you will always know that we gave 110%. At Michael & Associates, we pride ourselves on giving our clients the white glove treatment. We take on a limited number of cases so that we can treat each one with the individualized attention it deserves. When you work with us, you'll have direct access to Ben Michael's cell phone and are encouraged to text him anytime day or night. Ben will walk you through every step and detail of your case, making sure you feel comfortable the whole way through. We understand that this is a stressful time, and it's our goal not only to get you the best possible outcome, but to also make this process as painless as possible.
 
No matter what the outcome, you will always know that we gave 110%.

At Michael & Associates, we take on a variety of felony and misdemeanor criminal cases, including DUI / DWI, possession of a controlled substance, assault & battery, and family violence. We do not handle traffic law, family law, immigration law, or civil law cases.

We're licensed to practice law throughout the state of Texas and we're currently taking on cases for counties located between San Antonio and San Antonio.

Driving While Intoxicated in San Antonio

Any driver caught with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher in San Antonio, Bexar County, and the rest of Texas can be charged with driving while intoxicated. BAC is a measure of what percent of your blood is made up of alcohol. The number of drinks that will put you at a BAC of 0.08% depends on various factors, such as the strength of the drinks, the time passed since consuming, your gender, your weight, and your tolerance.

In San Antonio, the penalties vary based on how many offenses you have had.

First Offense

  • Up to a $2,000 fine
  • Up to 180 jails upon conviction, with three mandatory days in jail
  • Loss of driver's license for up to a year

Second Offense

  • Up to a $4,000 fine
  • One month to a year in jail
  • Loss of driver's license for up to two years

Third Offense

  • A $10,000 fine
  • Two to ten years in prison
  • Loss of driver's license up to two years

Additional penalties apply if driving with a child passenger, which include:

  • Additional fines up to $10,000
  • Up to two years in jail
  • Additional 180 days of driver's license suspension

If you are pulled over by the police, the best course of action is to pull over immediately and safely. Do not try to evade the police, as you will likely be unsuccessful and face additional charges.

Once the officer approaches your vehicle, be polite and obedient. The officer will ask for your license, registration, and proof of insurance. Tell the officer where these items are located, and slowly reach for them.

Officers will usually ask if you know why they pulled you over. You should simply say "No Sir" or "No Ma'am". This is because in court, the officer must have a reason to justify pulling you over. So, you don't want to admit to the officer that he or she had a good reason.

You have the right to refuse both a field sobriety test and a preliminary breathalyzer test. If you believe you will fail, it is a good idea to refuse these tests. Simply state that you are not comfortable doing them, and would like to speak with your attorney before doing so. Always assume you are being recorded, so be as polite and calm as possible.

You may still be arrested if the officer observes slurred speech, alcohol smell, or bloodshot eyes. Once arrested, you will likely be asked to take a blood or breath test to establish your BAC. If you refuse, you are subject to a license suspension. However, if you fail the test, you are also subject to a license suspension. In either case, a lawyer can help you fight this.

The officer may obtain a warrant to compel you to take the test, but this process takes time.

Always remain silent during questioning, and contact an attorney at the first opportunity you have.

If you are charged with a DUI, it is important to never plead guilty or give up. Whether your first or third DUI, fighting the charges will usually result in a better outcome for you.

Scroll to Top
Call For Free Case Review