Michael & Associates, Attorneys at Law

The Plano, TX DWI / DUI Lawyer Who Fights For Your Future

Charged with driving under the influence in Plano? Talk to an attorney who can help.

Being Convicted of a DWI in Plano Can Cost Thousands.
We're Here to Save You and Your Wallet.

On the Receiving End of a DWI Charge in Plano?

Between the financial burden and possible jail or prison time that comes with a DWI conviction, this can be one of the most difficult times in a person's life. If your court date goes wrong, you can face an entire list of penalties in their harshest amounts.

Who gets charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)? Anyone who operates a vehicle or, at times, intends to operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher.

Surprisingly, it is one of the most common criminal charges for Planoites and other residents of Collin County. Unsurprisingly, judges and other officials treat offenders harshly for this conviction. Driving while drunk can be quite dangerous and some people have personally experienced severe injury or the loss of a loved one due to its consequences.

The courts of Collin County and the state of Texas might come at you with their full strength, but Michael & Associates can be your shield. We're the best legal defense in town for DWIs.

Don't Throw Away Your Savings and Your Future Over a DWI

If this is your first time dealing with a DWI, you might not be aware of how serious both the state and county take it. You face high fees, suspension of your driver's license, and possible jail time in Plano. For a list of possible DWI penalties, see the list below:

Someone's 1st Offense: 

  • They might have to pay up to $2,000
  • They can spend anywhere from 3 to 180 days in jail
  • They might lose their driver's license for a year

Someone's 2nd Offense:

  • They might have to pay up to $2,000
  • They might serve 1 to 12 months in jail
  • They might lose their driver's license for up to two years

Someone's 3rd+ Offense:

  • They might have to pay up to $10,000
  • They might go to prison for 2 to 10 years
  • They might lose their driver's license for up to two years
  • They might have a felony on their criminal record

As if these penalties weren't severe enough, Planoites caught with a minor in their car while driving drunk can face serious enhanced charges.

Lawyer Up to Protect Your Future

If you are convicted of a DWI, you could stand to lose more than just the money from fees and your freedom with jail time.

You can be punished by your car insurance company with higher rates or lose your license entirely. If you get convicted for the third time and receive the felony charge, you will have a harder time voting and finding work.

If you value your future whatsoever, you'll get a competent attorney with a history of winning DWI cases in the area. You'll need someone experienced and effective to avoid facing the full force of the law.

Trust Michael & Associates to Defend You

If you want a legal defense team that has nearly ten years of experience and an impressive track record, Michael & Associates is your best bet.

We've fought hundreds of cases throughout Texas, and we're proud to say that our win rate is high. Most of our clients either have their charges reduced or they have their cases dismissed entirely.

Not only are we an effective bunch, but we love working in the Hot Air Balloon Capital of Texas. Our clients in Plano get the white-glove treatment. We treat each case as if it were our own, so you know you'll get the best results possible.

Other larger, cheaper firms just don't have the resources we do. They overbook themselves and burn out handling as many cases as possible. Even the best attorneys can fail to deliver the best results when they've been stretched too thin. With us, you get full access to our managing partner, Ben Michael. He walks you through the entire process and makes sure you're always as comfortable as possible.

If you're facing a DWI charge in Plano, count on Michael & Associates. Fill out the contact form on this page to schedule a free review. We'll get back to you as soon as possible with a legal defense strategy that'll truly help you out.

GET A FREE CASE REVIEW

If you've been charged with a DWI, you have 15 days before you lose your license. Fill out the form below and we'll be in touch in a few minutes.

Why we're the Right Plano DWI Lawyer for You

0+

Cases

0%

Success Rate

0

Years Experience

0.0

Star Google Rating

0+

Dismissals
2022-10-BEST-DUI-LAWYERR-removebg-preview
2020-Criminal-Defense-Badge1-removebg-preview
Top_40_under_40_Criminal_Defense_Attorney-removebg-preview
Top 10 Criminal Defense Attorney AVVO

Hundreds of Happy Clients

I was so pleased with the outcome of my case and the level of professionalism and knowledge of the lawyers at Michael and Associates. I would definitely recommend their services to anyone in need of a good criminal defense lawyer.

Jordan L

Recent DWI Cases

Case Dismissed

Charge: Driving While Intoxicated with a Minor

Allegations: Client was driving home from a day out with his teenage son. The police noticed him swerving in the road and pulled him over. He failed the breathalyzer test.

Result: Case Dismissed

Charges Reduced

Charge: Driving While Intoxicated, 3rd Offense

Allegations: Client was pulled over and refused both tests. She was taken into the police station for a blood test. She was at the exact legal BAC limit. This was her third offense.

Result: Case Dismissed; Felony Charge Avoided

Case Dismissed

Charge: Driving Under the Influence

Allegations: Client arrested after running two stop signs.  Police arrested him for smelling like alcohol and having bloodshot eyes.

Result: Case Pleaded Down to Reckless Driving Charge

Frequently Asked Questions

About Michael & Associates

Michael & Associates proudly stands on two pillars: treating our clients like royalty and winning the best results for them. We only take on a certain number of cases to ensure that we can give each of our clients our full attention and efforts. You never feel like a number with us like the clients of lesser firms do.

With cheaper, larger firms, they simply don't have the time to dedicate to you. They might mean well, but their case loads are too heavy for them to call you back in a timely manner. Not to mention, you never get access to their managing partners.

With us? Ben Michael himself will be at your personal beck and call. You will get his personal cell phone number, and he will respond as soon as he possibly can to any questions you might have. Questions you can ask even at 3 in the morning. He wants ease some of the stress his clients are facing during their court cases.

On top of that great level of care, we know what we're doing. We have nearly ten years of experience, hundreds of cases in Texas under our belt, and we put our best effort in every time. You're in good hands with Michael & Associates.

Michael & Associates will handle almost any case in Plano. Whether it's a misdemeanor level charge or a felony, we'll handle:

  • DUI / DWI
  • Possession of a Controlled Substance
  • Assault & Battery
  • Family Violence
  • Domestic Abuse

We regretfully do not do:

  • Traffic Law
  • Family Law
  • Immigration Law
  • Civil Law

Driving While Intoxicated in Plano

The legal limit for drunk driving in Plano, Collin County, and the rest of Texas is a 0.08% blood alcohol content (BAC) level or higher. This means your blood needs to be made up of at least 0.08% alcohol while driving for you to be charged.

There is no limit to the amount of drinks you have. A ballerina or featherweight boxer might go over the limit with a drink or two whereas a wrestler like Andre the Giant might be able to drink ten times that without going over the legal limit. It is always best to use a designated driver or call a cab if you're not sure if you're sober enough to drive.

In Plano and Collin County, the penalties depend on the circumstances of your arrest and how many past offenses you have had. Here are some possible consequences:

Your First Offense:

  • You may face up to a $2,000 fine
  • You may face up to 180 days in jail upon conviction with three being mandatory
  • You may lose your driver's license for up to a year

Your Second Offense:

  • You may face up to a $4,000 fine
  • You may face up to a year in jail
  • You may lose your driver's license for up to two years

Your Third and Up Offense:

  • You may face up to a $10,000 fine
  • You may face up to ten years in prison
  • You may lose your driver's license for up to two years

If you were caught driving with a child in the car while drunk, you can be looking at an additional $10,000 in fines, two more years in jail, and even more time added to the suspension of your license.

There are two important things to know in this situation. Firstly, it is within your rights to remain silent to avoid incriminating yourself - exercise this. Secondly, you should always be on your best behavior and interact with the police in a calm, polite manner.

An obvious tip is to never try to outrun or drive away from the police. They have resources to catch you that you can't complete with. You will be thrown in jail or prison for a much longer time and face even worse financial penalties.

Instead of fleeing, pull over in a safe manner. When the officer comes to your window to ask for your documents, let her or him know where they are and slowly retrieve them with the officer's permission.

You will be asked if you know why you've been pulled over. You need to reply with "no, ma'am" or "no, sir" as a truthful answer will only hurt you when fighting the charges. Remember that right to remain silent? Exercise it. You also have the right to refuse the initial breathalyzer and sobriety field tests if you think you'll fail them.

Even if you do everything correctly, if you seem drunk to the officer who pulled you over, you might be arrested and taken into custody. While at the station, they might try to find out your BAC by having you take a blood test or breathalyzer test.

In this situation, it's still within your rights to refuse as they do not have a warrant. Keep in mind, though, that if you refuse, you risk a suspension of your license. You still face that possibility if you take the test and fail.

If you have refused every single test thrown at you and you're dealing with a persistent officer, they might try to obtain a warrant to compel you to take one. At this point, you can't refuse it, and you must obey the arresting officer.

No matter what happens, exercise your rights, and say nothing until your lawyer can provide counsel.

Definitely. You need to fight your DWI otherwise you're going to be hit with the full weight of the Collin County court system. Even if you feel guilty for the mistake you've made, you need to fight to avoid being punished harshly. Don't give up.

Scroll to Top
Call For Free Case Review