Arrested for DWI in Mission?
Call us right away.
What Should I Do to Fix a DWI in Mission?
No one wants to go through a DWI arrest. The uncertainty is frightening.
Anyone in Mission who was tracked having a BAC over .08% can be arrested for DWI. It's a common crime, but one that carries some stiff penalties.
The state of Texas and the Hidalgo County court system will not give a DWI offender a break without good reason to do so. That's where Michael & Associates comes into play.
DWI Can Be Pricey, and Risks Your Freedom
The reality of the situation is that you need great representation to help navigate the process. The penalties you are facing are severe:
The 1st Offense:
- A $2000 fine
- From 3 and 180 days in jail
- Loss of driver's license for up to a year
The 2nd Offense:
- A $2000 fine
- From 1 and 12 months in jail
- Loss of driver's license for up to two years
The 3rd+ Offense:
- A $10,000 fine
- From 2 and 10 years in prison
- Loss of driver's license for up to two years
- A Felony record
There would be increased fines and jail time for property damage or child endangerment.
We Help You Manage This
The penalties are only part of the issue. You can also lose your license, making it hard to get to work. There is also other so social and financial fallout from the arrest, like insurance hikes.
Getting a premier defense team in your corner is the most important thing you can do right now. You need good advice, and you need it fast.
If you've been arrested for DWI, get your case the focus it deserves. Be sure to reach out to get the knowledgeable help you need to navigate this stressful process.
Michael & Associates Will Fiercely Defend You
Michael & Associates is one of the most experienced lawyers in the area, with 10 years of DWI experience.
With hundreds of cases and just as many wins, our record speaks for itself. We know the court system in Mission, and we can get reductions or dismissals in most cases.
We look for the best result and achieve that by being the most hands-on team you can find. We are loyal and work for you.
We are large enough to be a factor against the state's case against you but small enough so that you still get access to our partners, including Ben Michael.
You can trust the team at Michael & Associates. Call us for a free review of your case, and let's craft your custom DWI defense.
GET A FREE CASE REVIEW
If you've been charged with a DWI, you have 15 days before you lose your license. Fill out the form below and we'll be in touch in a few minutes.
0.0Star Google Rating
Hundreds of Happy Clients
Recent DWI Cases
Charge: Driving While Intoxicated
Allegations: Client failed the sobriety test after being pulled over for failure to yield to traffic. They were taken to the station.
Result: Suppression of illegally obtained evidence, case dismissed.
Charge: Driving While Intoxicated, 2nd Offense
Allegations: The client was charged with a second DWI after failing a field sobriety test and breathalyzer exam.
Result: Plea bargain for reckless driving
Charge: Driving Under the Influence
Allegations: After allegedly speeding and running a red light, the client was pulled over and arrested for DWI.
Result: Case dismissed
Frequently Asked Questions
About Michael & Associates
There are a lot of lawyers in Texas, so what sets us apart? It's the peace of mind you get when you see the white glove treatment that our clients rave about.
The other firms promise big things, but deliver scant results. When you need advice are they there to answer? The times you need them most, they are nowhere to be found. You are part of a conveyor belt to them. A means to an end. But not to us
At Michael & Associates, we limit the caseload for that exact reason. We want to be able to give you the attention would give our own family.
We give you Ben Michael's direct cell number, and invite you to call him when you need advice. With another firm, you would be lucky if the answering service returns your call by Friday.
Ben will be there to make sure you understand the plan and can get the case closed the way you want it to go. We are here as a team to help Ben, and you will get the best outcome we can get, because we fight for it.
Michael & Associates will accept a wide variety of criminal cases, both felonies, and misdemeanors:
- DUI / DWI
- Possession of a Controlled Substance
- Assault & Battery
- Family Violence
- Domestic Abuse
We aren't practitioners of:
- Traffic Law
- Family Law
- Immigration Law
- Civil Law
Driving While Intoxicated in Mission
If you are in Mission, in Hidalgo County, or the rest of Texas, any driver who fails a test can be charged with DWI. The BAC number represents the saturation level of alcohol in a person's bloodstream.
The BAC limit of 0.08% is a hard line, and being over it will depend on a number of things, including your height, weight, sex and the time elapsed since you stopped drinking the drinks.
In Mission, the penalties vary based on how many offenses you have had.
A First Offense
- $2,000 fine
- Up to 180 days upon conviction, with three mandatory in jail
- Loss of driver's license for a year
A Second Offense
- $4,000 fine
- One month to a year in jail
- Loss of driver's license for to two years
A Third Offense
- $10,000 fine
- Two to ten years in prison
- Loss of driver's license for two years
Child endangerment enhancements for someone arrested for DWI are:
- Fines up to $10,000
- As many as two years in jail
- Additional 180 days of driver's license suspension
Never try to flee from the police. You will be caught and face severe penalties for running from the law.
When the officer comes to the window, roll it down and be polite. Always ask if you may reach for your paperwork before doing so.
Never admit to knowing the reason you were stopped. This will help your lawyer later if probable cause for the stop comes into question. Just politely say you don't know why you were pulled over.
If you are asked to perform a breathalyzer test, you may reject it. Same for a field sobriety exam. If you suspect you may be too drunk to pass, you should refuse them. Simply inform the officer you'd want to wait for your lawyer before taking any tests.
If the police see signs like the scent of alcohol, slurring your speech, or showing any other obvious signs of intoxication will likely get you arrested and taken to the station. You will be asked to take the tests once again, and will get told to perform either a breathalyzer or a blood test. It's up to you, but you can refuse these tests, then wait for your lawyer, but it means a mandatory license suspension. Of course, failing the test means the same outcome plus potential jail time and fines.
The police might be in the mood to put in a little extra legwork, and take the time to get a warrant from a judge that can legally compel you to take a blood test. At this point, you need to comply and let the lawyer deal with the fallout.
Regardless of either situation, your lawyer is the best defender you can have, and they will fight for you.
Yes, never give up easily when faced with DWI. Your lawyer can almost always get a better outcome than a simple guilty plea, so be sure to fight.