Michael & Associates, Attorneys at Law

The Lubbock, TX DWI / DUI Lawyer Who Fights and Wins

Are you looking at your first or third DWI charge? Scared of losing the case in Lubbock County court and paying out big bucks? Michael & Associates is here to save both you and your finances.

A DWI in Lubbock Doesn't Mean Your Life is Over.
We're Here to Fight on Your Behalf.

Caught Driving While Intoxicated in Lubbock?

Whether you're aware of the possible penalties you can face for a DWI charge in Lubbock or not, it can be a stressful time for most people. No one likes having to fight for their money and freedom in court.

Driving While Intoxicated, commonly shortened to DWI, is when a driver operates a vehicle or intends to operate a vehicle while having a blood alcohol content (BAC) over the legal limit. The limit depends on the state, but in Lubbock County and the rest of Texas, it's 0.08% or above.

You might be surprised to find out that it's one of the most common crimes committed by Lubbockites. Lots of people in the area have DWIs on their record. Unfortunately, this doesn't mean the charges are any less severe. They carry serious consequences if applied to their full extent.

DWIs Mean Severe Fines and Jail Time

If you've never been charged or known anyone charged with a DWI, you might think you'll get off with a slap on the wrist if you have no previous record.

Sadly, you'd be mistaken.

Here are the penalties for DWIs for a Lubbockite based on their number of previous convictions:

Their 1st Offense: 

  • They might need to pay up to $2,000
  • They might serve anywhere from 3 to 180 days in jail
  • They might lose their driver's license for a year

Their 2nd Offense:

  • They might need to pay up to $2,000
  • They might spend 1 month to a year in jail
  • They might lose their driver's license for up to two years

Their 3rd+ Offense:

  • They might need to pay up to $10,000
  • They might stay in prison for 2 to 10 years
  • They might lose their driver's license for up to two years
  • They might have a felony on their criminal record

As if these penalties weren't already enough, if they're arrested with a minor in their car while intoxicated, they can face serious enhanced charges.

Fight For Your Future Alongside a Lawyer

If you are convicted, you will face further consequences outside of the legal system in Lubbock.

Folks who have one or more convictions stand to pay significantly higher rates for car insurance if they manage to keep their license. Not only that, but if they get the felony charge on their record after repeat offenses, they'll have a much harder time convincing potential employers to hire them as convicts are always under scrutiny in the working world.

If you don't want to throw your life away over a mistake, you need to do the following: find a competent lawyer in your area and consult with them about the best defense strategy for your situation. This gives you a fighting chance.

Depend on Michael & Associates to Help You Out

If you're looking for a defense team for your DWI in Lubbock, there's only one correct choice: Michael & Associates.

We have been practicing law in Texas for nearly a decade at this point. Not only that, but we handle DWIs exceptionally well, because we have represented our clients literally hundreds of times in various court systems throughout the state for these charges. The best part? We've won the majority of them by either getting the case dismissed or the charges reduced.

We pride ourselves on providing a high-level of service to our clients. Unlike other firms with too many cases on their plate, we only take on the number we can handle and still give 100% of our care and effort.

The best part is that our managing partner, Ben Michael, is very hands on. He enjoys walking you through the case strategy step-by-step and providing support during stressful times.

If you work with Michael & Associates, you're taken care of. If you would like a completely free case review, schedule one by filling out the contact form on this page.

GET A FREE CASE REVIEW

If you've been charged with a DWI, you have 15 days before you lose your license. Fill out the form below and we'll be in touch in a few minutes.

Why we're the Right Lubbock DWI Lawyer for You

0+

Cases

0%

Success Rate

0

Years Experience

0.0

Star Google Rating

0+

Dismissals
2022-10-BEST-DUI-LAWYERR-removebg-preview
2020-Criminal-Defense-Badge1-removebg-preview
Top_40_under_40_Criminal_Defense_Attorney-removebg-preview
Top 10 Criminal Defense Attorney AVVO

Hundreds of Happy Clients

Thank you so much for your help during my consultation! You were extremely helpful in describing the legal process and explaining everything perfectly in terms I could comprehend! You were also very patient, passionate, and highly professional! I would highly recommend your services!

Jordan L

Recent DWI Cases

Case Dismissed

Charge: Driving While Intoxicated, 3rd Offense

Allegations: Police pulled client over after she was caught speeding in a school zone. She failed a breathalyzer test and was looking at her third conviction.

Result: Case Dismissed Due to Illegally Obtained Evidence

Charges Reduced

Charge: Driving While Intoxicated, 2nd Offense

Allegations: Client was caught by a squad car hidden in his neighborhood as he tried to sleep off beers at a friend's house. He was in the driver's seat, he'd had a previous conviction, and the officer didn't believe his claim.

Result: Case Dismissed

Case Dismissed

Charge: Driving Under the Influence With a Minor

Allegations: Client was at a children's birthday party with their daughter. She had to rush home due to a family emergency after having a few drinks. She was caught failing to signal when making a turn.

Result: Charges Pleaded Down to Reckless Driving

Frequently Asked Questions

About Michael & Associates

We at Michael & Associates are known for two things in Lubbock County: giving our clients the royal treatment and satisfying them with their results in the court room.

If you go to any other firm in town, you might get a cheaper rate initially. You might even like the lawyer you meet when you set up your consultation. However, things quickly change. Once they clear your paycheck, they'll either stop returning your calls or send an assistant to deal with you - one who often replies late.

It's not that they don't want you to win, it's just that they don't have the time to cover all the cases they have. Some of them are great legal minds with simply too much on their plate. This doesn't happen at Michael & Associates.

We take on the perfect amount of cases to ensure we keep our reputation. We want our clients to have all the attention they need to keep their minds at ease during their fight against their DWI charges. Lower case counts also mean we have more time to focus on building the strongest defense for their individual situation.

On top of all that? Ben Michael himself will give you his personal cell phone number and encourage you to reach him day or night. You can shoot him a text before the crack of down, and he'll respond as promptly as he can. He'll be with you ever step of the way.

No other firm in the area can boast about their level of service and their win rate like we can. With Michael & Associates, you're on the right team.

Michael & Associates will handle nearly any type of case in Lubbock. Even if it's a felony, we'll handle:

  • DUI / DWI
  • Possession of a Controlled Substance
  • Assault & Battery
  • Family Violence
  • Domestic Abuse

We currently do not do:

  • Traffic Law
  • Family Law
  • Immigration Law
  • Civil Law

Driving While Intoxicated in Lubbock

The legal limit for drunk driving in Lubbock, Lubbock County, and the rest of Texas is a 0.08% blood alcohol content (BAC) level or above. Your BAC is a measure of how much alcohol is currently in your bloodstream. It will be higher if you've drank recently and/or have had many drinks.

Some people wrongly assume that they're good to drive if they only drink a certain amount based on folk sayings or local wisdom. No matter what you hear from your favorite drinking buddies, your biology is complex enough that there's no cheat to the perfect amount of alcohol before driving. If you don't think you're sober enough to drive, wait it out or sleep it off to avoid being charged with a DWI.

Lubbockites are subject to the following charges depending on any previous charges:

Your First Offense:

  • You may face up to a $2,000 fine
  • You may face up to 180 days in jail upon conviction with three being mandatory
  • You may have your driver's license suspended for up to a year

Your Second Offense:

  • You may face up to a $4,000 fine
  • You may face up to a year in jail
  • You may have your driver's license suspended for up to two years

Your Third and Up Offense:

  • You may face up to a $10,000 fine
  • You may face up to ten years in prison
  • You may have your driver's license suspended for up to two years

If you were pulled over on a DWI charge with a child in the car, you can be looking at an additional $10,000 in fines, two more years in jail, and even more time added to the suspension of your license.

When you get pulled over and are worried about being charged with a DWI in the Hub City, you should follow this advice to try to get the best results. It's not a get-out-of-jail-free card nor is it a set of tips for getting away with driving drunk. It's simply some instructions for the best method of handling interactions with the police.

When asked to pull over, do so with haste and, more importantly, safety in mind. Police officers can be impatient, so you want to make sure you don't waste their time to maximize your chances of them having a good mood.

After they come to your car, truck, etc., they'll ask to see a few documents like your license and registration. Make sure you show them these documents. However, before reaching for them, inform the officer of where they are and ask permission to grab them to avoid the officer feeling threatened.

They will often ask you why they've pulled you over as it will help get you charged with a crime. It's in their best interest to arrest and charge as many people as possible. It's in your best interest to respond with "no, sir" or "no, ma'am." Don't incriminate yourself even if you know why.

Many people are unaware of this, but you have the right to refuse both the initial breathalyzer test and the field sobriety test. Let the officer know you don't want to take any tests without first consulting your lawyer. At this point, you might get pulled in if you are showing any obvious signs of impairment (slurred speech, mixing up words, etc.).

If you are taken to the station, they might run a blood or breathalyzer test to find out what your blood alcohol content level is. At this point, you can still refuse the test. However, do so at your own risk as it may result in the suspension of your license. If you take the test and fail, though, you will still be subject to this same penalty. This is one of the numerous reasons why it's important to have a lawyer to call - you can fight these penalties.

If you still haven't taken a test and the officer is feeling rather persistent, they may take the time to obtain a warrant. If this happens, you legally need to take the test. Lucky for you, your BAC might lower at this point.

Never speak during these interactions except what is absolutely necessary for you to exercise your rights and stay safe in your interaction with the police. You have the right to remain silent and should exercise it. Contact your lawyer immediately.

Absolutely. You must fight your DWI otherwise you're going to be charged to the full extent by the Lubbock County court system. Even if you want to give up, you need to fight to avoid being punished severely. Keep going.

Scroll to Top
Call For Free Case Review