Michael & Associates, Attorneys at Law

The El Paso, TX DWI / DUI Lawyer With Your Best Interest in Mind

Charged with driving under the influence in El Paso? Talk to an attorney who can help.

A DWI in El Paso Can Ruin Your Life
We're Here to Stop That.

Have You Been Charged with a DWI in El Paso?

One of the most commonly said things by people who have fought a DWI charge is how stressful it can be. It can be a drain on your wallet, your social standing, and your mental and physical health.

Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is when the operator of a motor vehicle is caught with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level above the legal limit. In El Paso and the rest of Texas, the limit is 0.08%. It's surprisingly one of the most common crimes in the city.

Even though it's a common charge, it can have some serious consequences. Neither the state government of Texas nor the Crockett County courts favor individuals with DWI charges. They see them as dangers to the public due to high incidences of car accidents and accidental deaths caused by these drivers. However, one mistake shouldn't cost you your entire future. That's why Michael & Associates is here to help.

DWIs Are Expensive and Can Land You Behind Bars

Just because DWIs are common in El Paso and all of Crockett County doesn't mean you're going to be let off with a warning. There are severe penalties for DWIs that get worse with each additional offense. See this list for some possible consequences for residents of the Sun City:

Your 1st Offense: 

  • Possible $2000 fine
  • Jail time between 3 and 180 days
  • Loss of driver's license for up to a year

Your 2nd Offense:

  • Possible $2000 fine
  • Between 1 and 12 months jail time
  • Loss of driver's license for up to two years

Your 3rd+ Offense:

  • Up to a $10,000 fine
  • Between 2 and 10 years in prison
  • Loss of driver's license for up to two years
  • A felony on your record

You may face even worse penalties if you are caught with a child in your car when driving under the influence.

Don't Throw Your Life Away Over One Lapse in Judgment

Besides criminal penalties, you are looking at higher car insurance payments, the possible suspension of your driver's license, and increased difficulty in finding gainful employment. All because of a DWI.

You shouldn't brush this off as boys will be boys or think the mistake will go away. This is a serious charge that calls for serious legal representation.

If you've met someone who has gotten their case dismissed or their charges reduced, it is because they sought the help of a strong defense team. Make sure you get yourself one to protect your future. It's no laughing matter.

Michael & Associates - Your Best Defense Against DWIs

We're the team at Michael & Associates, and we know DWIs like the back of our hands. We boast a high win rate - most of our clients receive reduced charges or even have their cases dismissed entirely. This is because we have nearly a decade of experience and have represented hundreds of clients all over Texas.

We have one mission at Michael & Associates: to give you the best possible defense in town. We do this by providing each of our clients with high-quality treatment. We take only the number of cases that we can handle while ensuring we have enough time to dedicate to each case as if it were our own.

The larger, cheaper firms in town over-promise and under-deliver. They stick you with someone whose only thoughts are how to get you out of their office as soon as possible. With us, you get access to our managing partner, Ben Michael himself, who will hold your hand throughout the whole process. He will explain everything to you in detail while making sure you feel at ease during the process.

El Pasoans can depend on us. We'll get you the best outcome possible. To start your defense strategy today, schedule a free DWI case review.

GET A FREE CASE REVIEW

If you've been charged with a DWI, you have 15 days before you lose your license. Fill out the form below and we'll be in touch in a few minutes.

Why we're the Right El Paso DWI Lawyer for You

0+

Cases

0%

Success Rate

0

Years Experience

0.0

Star Google Rating

0+

Dismissals
2022-10-BEST-DUI-LAWYERR-removebg-preview
2020-Criminal-Defense-Badge1-removebg-preview
Top_40_under_40_Criminal_Defense_Attorney-removebg-preview
Top 10 Criminal Defense Attorney AVVO

Hundreds of Happy Clients

I would recommend Michael & Associates to anyone in need of a good law firm. They take the time to listen and really care about their clients.

Jordan L

Recent DWI Cases

Case Dismissed

Charge: Driving While Intoxicated

Allegations: The client was driving in between lanes late at night when coming home from a friend's birthday event. A police officer pulled him over and administered a breathalyzer test. The client had a BAC over the legal limit.

Result: Case Dismissed

Charges Reduced

Charge: Driving While Intoxicated, 2nd Offense

Allegations: After being pulled over, the client refused to take a breathalyzer. She thought she could pass a field sobriety test after failing her breathalyzer during her first offense. She failed and was arrested.

Result: Case Pleaded Down to Reckless Driving

Case Dismissed

Charge: Driving Under the Influence

Allegations: Client was taken into custody after making an illegal u-turn and nearly causing an accident. She was subjected to both a breathalyzer and field sobriety test.

Result: Case Dismissed

Frequently Asked Questions

About Michael & Associates

We at Michael & Associates take pride in two things: providing our clients with luxury treatment and giving them the best results they can get in court.

El Paso is home to dozens of lawyers who fail to deliver on their promises. They may have a cheaper price tag and nice commercials, but they don't see you as an individual like we do. Instead, you're simply another number in their criminal case machine that turns profits for them while their clients get hit with steep penalties in court. They'll only put in half the effort that we do.

Why are we able to provide such quality service? We have a limit to the number of cases we take at a time. We enjoy putting our clients at ease and helping them win their cases, so we only take new clients when we have enough time to dedicate to them properly.

Something else that sets us apart is the level of personal interaction you get with our managing partner, Ben Michael. You get his personal cell phone number. If you have a question at three in the morning, you can text it to him and receive a response as soon as he sees it. The other firms in El Paso? You're lucky if they reply within three days.

Ben is there for you every step of the way. If you have any questions for him, he'll give you the answer. If you need to vent about your stress or need to receive emotional support, he's happy to provide it. We want to make the process as easy as possible for our clients.

We at Michael & Associates are seasoned professionals, capable of handling many types of cases - felony or misdemeanor. We handle the following and more:

  • DUI / DWI
  • Possession of a Controlled Substance
  • Assault & Battery
  • Family Violence
  • Domestic Abuse

While we are experts in DWIs and many other kinds of cases, we do not do:

  • Traffic Law
  • Family Law
  • Immigration Law
  • Civil Law

Driving While Intoxicated in El Paso

In El Paso, Crockett County, and the rest of Texas, you can be charged with driving while intoxicated if you have too high of a blood alcohol content (BAC) level. The BAC is the measure police and governments use to determine how drunk an individual is - it is how much of your blood is made up of alcohol at the time the test was taken. The legal limit for a DWI charge is 0.08% or higher.

Some people think they have cracked the code for drinking safely without going over the limit. Do not listen to them. There is no code. There are far too many factors to know what your BAC will be after drinking due to differences in size, age, alcohol tolerance, etc. between individuals.

In El Paso and Crockett county, the penalties vary based on how many offenses you have had in the past. Each additional offense carries harsher penalties.

First Offense

  • You may have to pay up to $2,000
  • Up to 180 days in jail with at least three being mandatory
  • Loss of driver's license for up to a year

Second Offense

  • You may have to pay up to $4,000
  • One month to a year in jail
  • Loss of driver's license for up to two years

Third Offense

  • You will pay $10,000
  • Two to ten years in prison
  • Loss of driver's license up to two years

Further penalties can be charged against you if you were caught driving with a minor while drunk, such as the following:

  • Additional fines up to $10,000
  • Up to two years in jail
  • Additional 180 days of driver's license suspension

There is no guide for getting out of a possible DWI charge, but there are some helpful tips you can follow to avoid one or at least make your case in court stronger.

When pulling over, do so in a safe but immediate manner. Don't waste time, but make sure you aren't at risking of hitting anything or anyone.

No matter your personal opinion of the police, be kind and obedient when dealing with them within your rights. When you are asked for your license, registration, and proof of insurance, inform the officer of their location before slowly reaching for them.

You will likely be asked if you know the reason why you were pulled over. You may know, but do not say what it is. Simply reply with a "no sir" or "no ma'am." By admitting why you were pulled over, you will give the officer a stronger case against you in court when you challenge the DWI charge.

It is within your rights to refuse both of the initial field sobriety and breathalyzer tests. If you know you have no alcohol in your system, you may do them to prove your innocence. If you're even 1% unsure, refuse the tests in a polite manner. Inform the officer that you do not wish to take the tests without first speaking to your attorney.

Many officers are equipped with body or dash cams to ensure rules are followed by both parties. It is in your best interest to be as well-mannered as possible. It could save you when it comes to your time in court.

If you show any signs of intoxication - slurred speech, smelling of alcohol, bloodshot eyes, or anything else - you may still be arrested.

Once you are at the station, you will be asked to take either a blood or a breath test to find out what your BAC is. You may refuse these tests, but it will likely lead to your license being suspended. If you take the tests and fail, though, you will also be at risk of losing your license. No matter the result, if you have a strong defense team, they'll guide you through the fight against the charges and help you restore your license.

If you have refused every test asked of you, you may be compelled to take the test if the officer can obtain a warrant.

Exercise your constitutional rights by remaining silent during questioning. Never answer anything without first consulting your lawyer.

Yes, yes, yes. Never take a plea or give up the fight when you're charged with a DWI. It doesn't matter if this is your third time, you are almost guaranteed a better result if you fight it in court.

Scroll to Top
Call For Free Case Review