Michael & Associates, Attorneys at Law

The Texas/Texan DWI/DUI Lawyer Who Fights Hard for You

If you’re looking at a DWI charge anywhere in our great state, Michael & Associates can help you out with their years of experience and excellent win rate.

A DWI in Texas Costs a Ton and Means Jail Time
We’ll Fight For You and Win

No matter what city or county you’re in, the state of Texas defines the legal limit for a driving while intoxicated charge as 0.08% blood alcohol content (BAC) or higher. This means that someone’s blood is made up of 0.08% or more alcohol at the time of taking a breathalyzer or blood test.

Did you know that DWIs are one of the most common charges throughout most towns and cities in the Lone Star State? Many people make the mistake of getting behind the wheel after having too many and getting caught by the police.

While it is a common charge, you’ll receive no slap on the wrist for a DWI. From the county court level to the state, no judge likes to see DUI offenders in their presence as one mistake while driving drunk can easily end lives. They face the possibility of serious fines and jail time as punishment.

Don’t worry, though. At Michael & Associates, we know that one mistake shouldn’t ruin someone’s finances or reputation. We’ll fight at your side and win.

DWIs in Texas Mean Hefty Fees and a Jail Sentence

DWIs are taken seriously in this state. Someone can face thousands of dollars in fines and years in prison depending on how many previous offenses they have.

Check out the following list for possible penalties if convicted by the courts:

Your 1st Offense: 

  • Up to $2,000 in fines
  • Between 3 and 180 days locked up in jail
  • Suspension of driver's license for up to a year

Your 2nd Offense:

  • Up to $4,000 in fines
  • Between 1 and 12 months locked up in jail
  • Suspension of driver's license for up to two years

Your 3rd+ Offense:

  • Up to $10,000 in fines
  • Between 2 and 10 years locked up in prison
  • Suspension of driver's license for up to two years
  • A felony conviction on your criminal record

Adding to the seriousness of these penalties, if you’re caught with a minor or break any other laws while being pulled over, you can be hit with enhanced charges with even more fines and lockup time.

Get Started on Your Defense ASAP

When convicted, you won’t simply serve time in jail, pay some fines, then forget about it. You’ll find it hard to get your license back, your insurance rates will shoot through the roof, and you might even have a hard time returning to your job or finding a new one, especially with a felony conviction.

Doesn’t this all sound terrifying? You’re right, it does. It doesn’t have to be the case for you, though. The right lawyer or legal team will work with you to craft the best defense possible to protect your future.

You’re Protected From Disaster with Michael & Associates

At Michael & Associates, we know exactly what we’re doing when it comes to DWIs in Texas. Why? We’ve been fighting them throughout the state for nearly a decade - and winning.

We have fought hundreds and hundreds of cases in different counties over the years. We win the vast majority of our cases by either getting our clients’ charges reduced or getting their cases thrown out entirely to avoid any penalties.

When you work with us, you won’t just get an impressive legal team, you’ll also get matching care. We treat each client like they’re the most important person in the world, and we can do this by only taking on the amount of cases that we can most effectively handle at once.

Most of the other firms throughout the state care about their bottom-line above all else. They’ll take as many clients as they can, cash their checks, then phone it in come their court date. The people who they represent often get hit with the full brunt of Texas’s DWI penalties.

With us, you’ll get access to our managing partner, Ben Michael, who will personally walk you through your defense from start-to-finish. He prides himself on the hands-on approach our firm takes.

If you want a legal team that will do their best for you whether it’s your first time being charged or third, Michael & Associates has got you covered. To schedule a free case review, fill out the contact form on this page or call us. We’ll get started on your legal defense strategy as soon as possible.

GET A FREE CASE REVIEW

If you've been charged with a DWI, you have 15 days before you lose your license. Fill out the form below and we'll be in touch in a few minutes.

Why we're the Right Texas DWI Lawyer for You

0+

Cases

0%

Success Rate

0

Years Experience

0+

5 Star Reviews

0+

Trials
2022-10-BEST-DUI-LAWYERR-removebg-preview
2020-Criminal-Defense-Badge1-removebg-preview
Top_40_under_40_Criminal_Defense_Attorney-removebg-preview
Top 10 Criminal Defense Attorney AVVO

Hundreds of Happy Texas Clients

Thank you, Ben Michael, and team for your amazing work on my behalf. I was very pleased with the outcome of my case and your professionalism throughout the entire process. I would highly recommend your firm to anyone in need of criminal defense services.

Jordan L
Temple, TX

Recent DWI Cases in Texas

Charges Reduced

Charge: Driving While Intoxicated with a Minor, 2nd Charge

Location: Dallas, TX

Allegations: Client was coming home late at night from his son’s friend’s birthday party. Police pulled him over and took him to the police station after he failed a field sobriety test.

Result: Charges Reduced

Case Dismissed

Charge: Driving While Intoxicated

Location: Denton, TX

Allegations: Police pulled client over after seeing her swerving in a busy street in the middle of the day. She was taken into custody after failing a breathalyzer.

Result: Case Dismissed

Case Dismissed

Charge: Driving Under the Influence

Location: Austin, TX

Allegations: Client made an illegal U-Turn late at night in front of a police car. She refused both initial tests and was taken to the police station. She refused all of her tests and was facing license suspension.

Result: Case Dismissed

Frequently Asked Questions

About Michael & Associates

We are a unique firm in Texas at Michael & Associates, because we go above and beyond when it comes to ensuring our clients feel comfortable while we do our best to get them the best outcome they possibly can get.

You can walk into many firms in the state and find cheaper service. You’ll also find that cutting costs on your legal defense now means heavier penalties later. Why? Whether you’re getting a greenhorn intern or a seasoned veteran lawyer, they’ll be overworked due to their firm prioritizing the number of cases instead of the quality of care and results.

Michael & Associates only takes on as many clients as we can possibly give our full attention to. We value our reputation more than making a quick buck off of someone’s legal troubles.

When you hire us, you’ll get access to Ben Michael’s personal cell phone number. You can text him your questions at any time, whether it’s early morning or late night. He’ll return with an answer as soon as possible instead of waiting for an uninterested office manager to finally pass on the message.

Ben will also be with you every step of the way to help you understand each aspect of the case. Michael & Associates know our clients are facing one of the most stressful periods of their life, and we’re here to comfort them.

We at Michael & Associates are highly experienced in fighting DWIs throughout the entire state. We handle most criminal cases, felony or misdemeanor, and can likely represent you. We handle the following and more:

  • DUI / DWI
  • Possession of a Controlled Substance
  • Assault & Battery
  • Family Violence
  • Domestic Abuse

While we are good at what we do, we try to stick to what we excel at. We do not take on:

  • Traffic Law
  • Family Law
  • Immigration Law
  • Civil Law

We are fully licensed throughout all of Texas to practice law. At the moment, we currently only take cases for the counties between Austin and San Antonio. If you’re inside this area, contact us for a free case review.

Driving While Intoxicated in Texas

No matter where you’re being pulled over in Texas, if you have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you’re at risk of receiving a driving while intoxicated charge. 0.08% is the limit set by the state as it is around this level where most people are so impaired that they cannot safely operate a vehicle.

How many drinks does it take to get a 0.08% BAC? There is no correct answer to this. Each person has a different limit due to factors like size, alcohol tolerance, strength of drinks, etc. The best bet is to find a cab, ride-share app driver, or friend to take you home if you’re not sure as DWI charges are not fun.

In Texas, depending on how many times you’ve been convicted previously, you’ll receive different severities of penalties. Take a look at what you might face if convicted:

The first offense brings:

  • Up to a $2,000 fine
  • Three mandatory days in jail with up to 180 days
  • Loss of driver's license for up to a year

The second offense brings:

  • Up to a $4,000 fine
  • One month to a year in jail
  • Loss of driver's license for up to two years

The third offense brings:

  • Up to a $10,000 fine
  • Two to ten years in prison
  • Loss of driver's license up to two years

Not only are you facing these penalties, you can be hit with enhanced charges depending on the circumstances of your arrest. Someone who is pulled over with a minor in the car could be hit with:

  • Additional fines of up to $10,000
  • Up to two years in jail
  • Additional 180 days of driver's license suspension

There is no cheat sheet to getting out of any situation involving the police, let alone a DWI where many different factors come into play. However, here are some tips that you can follow to maximize your chances of success on your court date.

The two most important tips are to be polite and to know your rights. 

Being polite means providing the cops with the necessary documents when pulled over without any sign of annoyance or frustration, following their instructions, and not causing further problems by trying to flee or fight. This helps no one if you resist and only hurts your chances in court.

Knowing your rights means knowing which sobriety tests you are required to take and which you can reject (see below). It also means largely remaining silent until your lawyer is present to advise you.

When you see the red and blue flashing lights behind you, try to find a safe spot to pull over as quickly as you can within reason. Once there, wait for the officer to approach your car and request your license, registration, and proof of insurance. Politely inform him or her of their location before slowly moving to get them out of the glove compartment or other area where they’re stored.

A question most people get asked when pulled over is if they know why they’ve been pulled over. Never answer this question with anything besides “no, ma’am” or “no, sir.” The police are looking for a justification in court for why you’ve been charged with something, it is your right to remain silent to avoid incriminating yourself.

The first two tests you’ll be asked to take are a field sobriety test and a breathalyzer test to establish what your BAC is at the time of being pulled over. You may refuse these two tests and, unless you know you’re 100% sober, you should do so. Let the officer know you’d prefer to consult your lawyer before taking any such tests.

If you show any obvious symptoms of intoxication such as slurring your speech, smelling like a bar, etc. then you will likely be arrested. 

If you are taken to the police station, they will request that you take a breathalyzer test or a blood test once again to establish BAC. At this point, you can still say no, but it comes at the penalty of losing your license. If you say yes and fail, though, the result is the same. Weigh your choices and always try to keep your composure as a lawyer will fight any suspension that may come up.

If all of the tests have been refused, some police officers will try to obtain a warrant to compel you to take one. This is a timely process and might reduce the chances of you testing above the legal limit, so it doesn’t always happen. If you’re presented with a warrant, you must take the test or face harsher consequences.

The most important thing to remember is to contact your lawyer as soon as you possibly can. They will ensure that you’re taken care of and start working on your defense as soon as they arrive.

The answer is a definite yes. Texans who refuse to fight often find themselves hit with the full-force of Texas’s courts. They’re the ones who receive the upper end of each of the penalty categories. Those who find a lawyer and fight are much more likely to receive reduced charges or have their cases dismissed even if it’s not their first offense.

Scroll to Top
Call For Free Case Review